contemporary · young adult

The Minnow

Author: Diana Sweeney

Summary from Goodreads:
Tom survived a devastating flood that claimed the lives of her sister and parents. Now she lives with Bill in his old shed by the lake. But it’s time to move out—Tom is pregnant with Bill’s baby.

Jonah lets her move in with him. Mrs Peck gives her the Fishmaster Super Series tackle box. Nana is full of gentle good advice and useful sayings.

And in her longing for what is lost, Tom talks to fish: Oscar the carp in the pet shop, little Sarah catfish who might be her sister, an unhelpful turtle in a tank at the maternity ward. And the minnow.

The Minnow is a moving and powerful coming of age story with a whimsical element that belies the heartbreaking truth of grief and loss. Tom is a character you will never forget.

Comments:

I received a free digital copy from Netgalley in exchange for an honest feedback.

Unlike other reviews on this story, I honestly found it boring and dragging. Although I admit it was a unique story, I wasn’t really sure where it was headed. It mostly was about Tom, pregnant at a young age, lost her family in the flood, talks to animals and the dead. While reading, I was just not getting it. What is it that the writer wants me to know or to learn? Is it about the realities of life? Is it about overcoming difficulties? Is it supposed to be about dealing with grief and loss? If it is one of these, it kind of missed the mark.

One thing that turned me off was the story flow. It seems like there was a situation being played out here, but suddenly inserting another different thought, abruptly ending the previous one, only to be continued later. That made me confused, but ultimately made me bored. I thought using “the Minnow” as a way to call her child was clever, along with the words that Tom learns passed along to the readers. However, those are a few of the things that amused me.

My Rating: ★★ (2)

Leave a Reply

