chick lit · romance

Review: Remember Me?

Author: Sophie Kinsella

Genre: Chick Lit, Romance

Summary from Goodreads:

When twenty-eight-year-old Lexi Smart wakes up in a London hospital, she’s in for a big surprise. Her teeth are perfect. Her body is toned. Her handbag is Vuitton. Having survived a car accident—in a Mercedes no less—Lexi has lost a big chunk of her memory, three years to be exact, and she’s about to find out just how much things have changed.

Somehow Lexi went from a twenty-five-year-old working girl to a corporate big shot with a sleek new loft, a personal assistant, a carb-free diet, and a set of glamorous new friends. And who is this gorgeous husband—who also happens to be a multimillionaire? With her mind still stuck three years in reverse, Lexi greets this brave new world determined to be the person she…well, seems to be. That is, until an adorably disheveled architect drops the biggest bombshell of all.

Suddenly Lexi is scrambling to catch her balance. Her new life, it turns out, comes complete with secrets, schemes, and intrigue. How on earth did all this happen? Will she ever remember? And what will happen when she does?

Comments:

Oh yay! My first Sophie Kinsella book! Can I just say that I actually like the simplicity of the cover which looks really cheery and matches the humor of the book? I thought it was something random, but somewhere in the story, there’s actually an explanation behind the sunflower.

So imagine having to wake up to a life that’s completely different from what you remember…

At least that’s how I imagined Lexi Smart felt after being confronted that it’s year 2007, instead of 2004. From loser to boss, there has been a total change of how things are going for her. The problem is, she can’t remember what happened in the past 3 years. Why do I look different? How was I able to afford such expensive things? I know how to drive? And…. I’m married? She may have been living a perfect life, or so she thinks.

Although there were some instances where I was a bit annoyed with Lexi, I liked her personality. She’s funny, loyal, and was willing step up especially for her family. There isn’t much information about the other characters; it was mostly Lexi’s struggle living at the present even though she had no idea how she got there. Yes, she made mistakes and I didn’t really like the part where it seemed very convenient that things went her way – breaking up with Eric, reconciling with friends, getting that good deal for business. I had to keep in mind that it’s just fiction.

The air of mystery kept it interesting, but of course you could very much predict most of the things that happened. I did feel it was a bit prejudiced at some parts, like the richer people being more shallow than Lexi’s old friends, the seemingly perfect, modelesque husband, and the wayward sister who is a product of negligence. Again, all of these would conveniently end well.

I’m looking forward to reading more of Kinsella’s books!

“All this time, I wasn’t hungry for success, I was hungry.”

My Rating: ★★★★ (4)

Leave a Reply

